top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Morse

The Ultimate Florence Travel Guide

Updated: Oct 16, 2018

I spent four months exploring Florence finding the best places to go in the process. This epic travel guide lists every spot you need to see while in Florence, with a few tips thrown in.



Florence is the most magical city filled with amazing culture, food, and wine. I am forever grateful for the four months I had to explore and fall in love with this incredible city. Seriously, if you are thinking of studying here or just visiting, DO IT. I promise you won't regret it, especially if you visit some of my suggestions listed below.


Coffee

I consider myself a coffee fanatic, so finding the best spots in the city for coffee and studying was one of my favorite past times. Keep in mind: Italians do not believe in to go coffee, so your morning cup becomes a lot more of an experience than your daily Starbucks. ALSO do not order a milk based drink (think latte/cappuccino) after 2pm... you will look dumb.

La Menagere – So cute, think Instagram feed come to life. It’s a restaurant/coffee shop/FLOWER SHOP, and overall so beautiful. They have food there too, but I never ate it. Such a great place to study or journal with coffee. Bonus: it is also a nice place to get super fun/cute drinks at night!

Finnestrre- Right by Santa Croce. My favorite place for a cappuccino and the best croissants.

News Cafe- A super cute little spot with amazing coffee. They do designs on your cappuccinos and will sometimes even add a picture of the duomo on top!

Ditta Artigianale- I loved this place!! They have an amazing atmosphere and serve great coffee. There is delicious food too, but I would mostly go for a great cappuccino and a place to study/journal.


Food

Breaking down food places in Florence is SO HARD. I swear, even a bad meal is good here. Stay away from places close to the Duomo, they are often over priced and not as good as ones farther away. The city is pretty small, and I guarantee all these restaurants are worth the walk.

La Vespe – Super good for breakfast/brunch, always good if you are craving American food if you're in Florence for a while.

Central Market – This isn't a specific restaurant, but deserves to be on the list. The bottom is a market that sells fresh food to take home a prepare, the top is a collection of a variety of restaurants. The market is just fun to visit and see, you can't go wrong with any of the food there.

Pino’s – I LOVED Pino's paninis, not only are they only 4 Euros, but Pino actually makes your sandwich for you. They also heat up your panini's, which I really liked.

All’Antico- Another great panini spot. These 5 euro paninis are a Florentine staple. There is always a line out the door, but don't let that deterrer you away. They have amazing truffle spread and shave the meat in front of you. You have to try one of these!

Gusta Pizza - A study abroad staple. They have amazing pizza for only 5 euros. Ask for a heart pizza for the insta ;)

Pizza Napoli- A little more expensive than Gusta (around 8 per pizza), but SO yummy. Their crust is a little less doughy and more locals go there. Plus the owner will do a shot of limoncello with you when you go to pay for your meal.

4Leoni – Super yummy! Everything on their menu is delicious, but the pear ravioli is a must have.

5Cinque - Right next to 4Leoni, it’s their vegetarian option. Amazing cacio e pepe (essentially mac and cheese).

ZaZa’s - A huge restaurant, but so delicious. Their menu is huge, so there really is something for everyone! I took my family here and it was one of their favorite places.

Trattoria 13 Gobbi- AMAZING rigatoni. I had a super good pesto there too, not great service but the food totally makes up for it.

Osteria Santo Spirito- One of my faves!! I went here the most out of all the restaurants on this list. Really good truffle gnocchi (share it) and just the freshest most amazing pasta/food at super reasonable prices.

Dantes- Good food and FREE WINE with your meal. Seriously, if you look like a student they just let it flow, its amazing.

Dim Sum - Delicious dumplings. Pretty cheap but because it is small portions. Great alternative to Italian food.


Gusta Pizza- a classic


Gelato:

Gelato: a staple for any trip to Italy. There were so many great places, but these were the ones I found myself consistently going back to. Note: avoid any gelato that is piled up high in a window, it usually is not very good and very overpriced.

Gelateria De Neri- One of my faves! They were opened the latest, which was a blessing. It was so fun to go for a late night walk through the city and stop here for a treat. Their cherry flavor was my fave.

Eduardo’s - Right by the Duomo, but still great. They make fresh cones and their cinnamon gelato is wonderful. They also have a vegan almond that I was OBSESSED with when eaten with the cinnamon.

La Carriaia- Super yummy! One location on each side of the river.


Enjoying Gelato with my Siblings


Places to go:

Obviously there is so much to do in the city. There are countless museums, piazzas, and stunning views. I just included my must sees.

Gucci Museum- Only 8 euros to go in and SO fun! Really cool place.

Boboli Gardens- Not sure about the timelines of your trip but the first Sunday of every month is free museum day. The garden is beautiful, you can spend half a day wandering.

David - Need I say more? Located in the Galleria dell'Accademia, this statue is truly stunning. You can check out a fake David in the Piazza della Signoria, however nothing beats the real thing.

Piazza da Michelangelo- You HAVE to go up here for at least one sunset. This is seriously my favorite place in all of Florence and where I want to be proposed to. Bring a bottle of wine and enjoy my favorite view of the city.

Santa Croce- Actually so cool to go in! Huge and really underrated. Only 8 euros to get in.

Climb the Dome/bell tower: You have to make a reservation for the dome in advanced, and it fills up. For 15 euros you can get your dome reservation, climb the bell tower, and have access to the museum and baptistery. You definitely have to do it, the bell tower has a better view for the insta ;)



My Mom, sister Victoria, Me, and sister Meghan at the Gucci Museum



The Fam at Piazza de Michaelangelo

Going Out:

Going out is essential to someone studying abroad, and really fun to do even if you're just visiting! Some Italian men can be aggressive, so make sure you always have your gal pals around to have your back.

Red Garter - Karaoke bar, really fun any night and one of my personal favorite places.

YAB - A super fun club, Monday is hiphop. They have a quiet downstairs part open sometimes that’s really sick.

Kakuya- We would always start our night here, they have a Dragoon beer that is served with a lollipop and like 12% alcohol so it gets ya feeling good.

Shot bar- They have drink buckets that were fun to share. This is definitely a student place, and kinda small but fun to do once or twice.

Reverse- Super fun, chic, but small.

Lions Fountain- Definitely a study abroad student spot. Writing all over the walls, college shirts hanging and cheap drinks. A place to go once, but not more.


Bonus:

SECRET BAKERIES - Ok we searched all over the city for the infamous secret bakeries and NEVER found them until our last week! So our secret spot was on Via Dei Macci (near where red garter and Kakuya are) Go to the back door of the bakery and get a fresh croissant from the sweet bakers.


Writing this has made me so nostalgic! It hasn't even been a year and I already want to go back!! Until then, I hope you enjoyed my guide to Florence. Let me know if you have been and have any amazing spots that should be added to the list!



89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page