top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Morse

Tea Time in London

Updated: Apr 23, 2018

Tea time in London, a classic "must do" for any visitor. Here is where I went and what we did.

One of the amazing cities I got to visit while abroad was London. I have been obsessed with London for as long as I can remember; I actually thought I was going to study there up until I submitted my application for Florence. As you can read about here, I would not change my study abroad experience for the world, but I was happy I got to check London off my bucket list.

My friend Ali was studying in London at the time, and was nice enough to let me stay with her and play tour guide. Our other friend, Kayla flew in from the states and joined us as well! I was so excited to not only be seeing a new city, but to be experiencing it with my friends. Obviously, it was necessary to do tea together.

We researched a lot of places, and as you may expect, they were all very expensive or very over booked. We wanted to find a place that was cute, had a yummy menu, and was reasonably priced. We finally found The Great Court Restaurant in the British Museum. Their afternoon tea was only 20 pounds, and 25 if you got Prosecco with it! The menu included scones with clotted cream and jam, a variety of tea sandwiches, macaroons, tortes, and much more. We booked a reservation the day before and crossed our fingers that it would be as good as it looked online.


We arrived at the museum and went to the restaurant quickly. It was in a beautiful, bright, and open, it did not feel like you were in a museum at all. Kayla and I ordered the Prosecco tea, while Ali and Moriah enjoyed the more classic tea spread. It was superb. We ate and chatted and drank tea until we were so full we were almost sick.



Overall, our tea experience was fantastic. I am so happy our frantic search found an amazing place that I would definitely go to again and recommend to anyone reading this. Most importantly, I got to have a unique experience with the people closest to me. I will forever be grateful for my time in London and that unforgettable tea.





41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page