top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Morse

How I Ran a Half Marathon

Updated: Apr 25, 2018

And how you can too. If I did it, anyone can... trust me




How Did I Get Roped Into This?

Let me start off by saying, running a half marathon was not my idea. At all. If you told me a year ago that I was going to be writing this post, I would laugh in your face. When I say if I did it, anyone can, I truly mean it.

It all began with my sisters, who usually help push me to do things out of my comfort zone. My sister Meghan text my other sister Victoria and me last April proposing we run a half marathon on my 21st birthday. At the time, I was abroad and possibly in the worst shape of my life. I was throughly enjoying the Italian lifestyle, eating pizza, pasta, gelato, and drinking copious amounts of wine. My only exercise was running to catch a train and the occasional two mile run to the Ponte Veccio and back. Of course, when Meghan text me, my immediate reaction was "absolutely not." On top of being out of shape, I never considered myself a runner. I run for exercise, however never more than three miles. In recent years, I have turned to yoga and cycling; much more posh forms of working out. I politely declined my sisters proposal and moved on my merry way. However, Meghan would not let go of the idea. Every time she brought it up, I would tell myself I could think of a million better ways to spend my 21st birthday; however, my Italian indulgences were catching up to me. I could not help but think that having this half marathon in August would be the perfect motivation to get back in shape when I came back to the states in May. Meghan proved to be extremely persuasive and in a moment of weakness, I agreed to sign up. Immediately after I regretted it, who would be crazy enough to run a half marathon on their 21st birthday?

“Who would be crazy enough to run a half marathon on their 21st birthday?”

I accepted that this was something I was now stuck doing, but told myself I could wait until I got back in May to begin my training.


What TF is a Training Plan?

While I was still abroad, I started to panic over the fact that I was supposed to run 13.1 miles in the near future. I frantically began searching "running half marathon for beginners." I found a 12 week beginner training plan online. Serendipitously, the Monday I got back was exactly 12 weeks before the half marathon, this was the training plan for me.

The first few weeks were easy to follow, not only because of low milage. I was still in Northern California not working, so my days were free and the weather was cool. These conditions were super conducive to marathon training, and for the first time I thought running may not be as bad as I thought. I was very quickly proven wrong. Training started to get difficult around week 4. The beginning of June, I moved back down to Orange to work for the summer. It took me a week or so to figure out where to run 3+ miles in Orange, but I finally settled on Hart Park. Not the ideal place to spend a lot of time, this sketchy park in the center of the small town would have paths that would take me under overpasses, next to abandoned lots, and by a freeway. Additionally, fitting running in with yoga and my job was no easy task. The Southern California heat did nothing for my motivation as well. I was working eight hour days, I was traveling on the weekends, and I was losing motivation fast.

" I was working eight hour days, I was traveling on the weekends, and I was losing motivation fast."

Time was flying by, before I knew it, I hit week 6. I had never run eight miles in my life, but when I did I felt AMAZING. During wasn't fun, but after I felt unstoppable. The weekend after I had my annual triathlon (it sounds a lot more intense than it is, I swear). I put off some of my runs the week following telling myself that the triathlon took care of some of my training. This week I also decided it would be a great idea to get new shoes. It was not a good idea. The weeks following were accompanied by the worst blisters of my life. Every time I ran my feet would bleed and my blisters would rip open (cute I know). I could not get over the 9 mile mark no matter how hard I tried. Before I knew it, it was the week of the half marathon. I desperately wanted to run at least 10 miles before, but never got it in. Two days before the race, I cried. I was so scared, I felt so unprepared, and honestly thought there was no way I could do it, but it was too late to backdown.

"I was so scared, I felt so unprepared, and honestly thought there was no way I could do it, but it was too late to backdown. "

The night before the race, I prayed that I would just finish the race without dying. All I could think was any other normal 21 year old would be going to the bars right now.


It's Go Time

Race morning I wrapped up my blisters, slipped on my clothes, and tried to not throw up out of fear. As my sisters and I waited at the starting line all I could think was, "I am finally here." We talked to a mom and daughter who run marathons and half marathons all around the country and they told me I was going to do great (lol). Attached below is a blurry pic of me talking to the mom and daughter, I think you can see the anxiety and doubt in my face.



We began running and honestly, I felt amazing. I would just break the miles down in my head. When we hit 5, i told myself that was an easy day's run. Once I hit 9, the most I had run when training, I told myself only 4.1 left, which was a short run to me at the time. I honestly felt great until the last half mile, my sisters were pushing me to go faster, but honestly thought there was no way my legs could move any more than they were. As we crossed the finish line I was ecstatic. I was done!! I did it!!


I was so happy that not only was I done, but despite my fear and doubt, I did something I NEVER thought I would do! My runners high was accompanied by some of the worst leg cramping I have ever experience. I seriously could barely walk after and was sore for like a week later. I also got a blister under my toenail (?) which subsequently lead to that nail to fall off later, so that was fun.


Takeaways From a Running Noob:

At the end of it all, I was so happy I ended up running the half marathon. It was challenging, both mentally and physically, but the feeling you get as you finish makes it all worth it. If I could give tips to other running noobs to make their experiences better here is what I would say:

1. Don't get in your head. The more you tell yourself you can't do it, the more you will believe it.


2. Find a training plan that works for you, and stick to it. Here is one, here is another, or follow the one I followed (shown above).


3. Get good running shoes. Do not train in nike shoes, most are made for low milage. You need proper shoes to ensure you won't injure yourself. Also, don't make the same mistake as me and get new shoes in the middle of your training.


4. Braids are one of the best hairstyle to run it. Your hair won't fall out and you will look cute, it's a win-win situation.


5. On the day of the race and on longer training runs: use glide (an anti chafing stick). The friction from running that long WILL cause you to chafe. I used it on my arms, under my boobs (TMI?), and on my thighs. It was truly a lifesaver.


If you are even thinking of running a half marathon, do it. Don't let your fear stop you from doing it like I almost did. As you can see, my training was not perfect, and even after training I felt unprepared. Despite it all, I finished and lived to tell the tale, and you will too.

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page