top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Morse

Drug Store vs. High End Makeup- Where to Splurge and Where to Save

Updated: Oct 16, 2018

I love makeup, but it is hard to determine when I should spend more. Here is my breakdown.




Splurge:

Eye Shadow- Eyeshadow and eyeshadow palette are so important to invest in! Not only will you get the best pigment, but you will also get the best ingredients that are the closest to your eyes! I love all the Naked palette and any Tarte palette.

Concealer- I love going drugstore when I can, but nothing compares to a high end concealer! Seriously when it comes to coverage, nothing compares. I personally love the MAC Pro Longwear, Tarte Shape Tape, and NARS creamy concealer.

Blush- I love blush, but I have not found a drugstore blush that doesn't make me look BRIGHT pink. My personal favorites are MAC Melba, and any Tarte Amazonian Clay blush.

Lipstick- I am a lipstick addict and literally wear it every day, however, I HATE carrying lipstick around and reapplying throughout the day. If my lipstick is not long wearing, forget about it. Invest in your lipstick to achieve better results and better ingredients.

Primer- Primer is the KEY to long lasting makeup and better application. Don't skimp on arguably one of the most important aspects of your makeup routine. I love the Farsali Unicorn drops, I literally take a Yoga Sculpt class and sweat buckets and my makeup is still perfect! I also love the MAC Painterly Paint Pot to prime my eyes. It makes every eye look better and creaseless all day.


Save:

Mascara- Ok, so this may be different for everyone, but personally, I do not see much difference mascara to mascara. I have tried high end, I have tried the cheapest of the cheap and they all seem the same to me. I personally love The Falsies mascara by Maybelline, I actually get people asking me if I am wearing false lashes!

Foundation- This may be a point of contention, because I know a lot of people think the foundation should be splurged on, but bear with me. I have been using the same foundation for five years and can't stray away. L'oréal True Match Lumi is my wholly grail. I get compliments all the time on my foundation and have serious satisfaction telling people it was under $20.

Powder- So I know a lot of people love the Laura Mercier translucent powder, but I have found the best dupe. The RCMA no color powder is so amazing and only $12!! I like it better than the Laura Mercier powder, and love that I can spend that money elsewhere.

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page