top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Morse

How I Clean My Makeup Brushes

Updated: Oct 19, 2018

Raise your hand if you have washed you makeup brushes in the last week...no one? That's what I thought.




What is Brush Washing Protocol?


Most girls I talk to literally never clean their makeup brushes and even more don't even know HOW to do it. Now, I am not perfect. I do not wash my brushes nearly as much as I need to, but I wash them as much as I can. When you think about it, not cleaning your brushes is actually pretty freaking gross. They are touching your face, your eyes, and your products almost everyday. They pick up product and bacteria which could cause breakouts and a slew of other issues. Technically, you are supposed to wash your makeup brushes every week, but let's be real, no one has time for that. So lets settle of once a month (or once every other month is we are being really real). Put on you favorite Netflix show or a Youtube video and get cleaning!


Step One


Grab a plate and pour half Dawn antibacterial dish soap and half olive oil. The dish soap kills bacteria while the olive oil conditions the brushes.


Step Two


Collect all the brushes you want to clean. One by one, swirl them in between the oil and the soap. When the brush seems covered enough rinse under lukewarm water using swirling motions in the palm of your hand. Run under water until it runs clean and no soap is left. It is important that you do not use HOT water because it will de bond the glue from your brushes, especially if you have cheaper ones like I do (RIP my Real Techniques brush that perished because of my mistakes). Be as gentle as you can through these steps to make sure the bristles stay in tact.


Step Three


Squeeze any excess water from the brush and reshape. Lay on a towel to dry. You can also dry them upside down to prevent water from softening the glue. I used to do this but honestly I got too lazy so now I just lay them on a towel.


Viola! You are done. Pretty painless and now you won't risk a breakout or stye every time you put makeup on! How often do you clean your brushes? Do you have any tips to make it easier on me?


22 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page